Ambassador/ Membership Committee

Chair: Jose Moreno

Committee Members: John Peterson, Ran Taylor, Terria Conwell, Penny Schlyer, Dwight Stowers, Matt Workman, Teresa Arroyo, Alan Whipps, Jan Zurek

This committee helps promote the Chamber as well as identifies/recruits’ new membership and helps maintain retention through enhanced programs and services. Committee meets the second Monday at 8:00am at various restaurants, time subject to change


Banquet/Awards Committee

Chair: Nancy Simpson

Committee Members: Jamie Lewis, Melinda Metz, Carol Podolak, Lisa Franko, Erin Robles, Cyndi Morgan

This committee reviews all nominations presented by Chamber members for several community awards that are presented at the Community Awards and Recognition Banquet. This committee also organizes the November Community Awards and Recognition Banquet including securing sponsorships and raffle items. This committee meets around 4-5 times between August and November at the Chamber office.


Budget/Finance Committee

Chair: Mike Sarver

Committee Members: Greg Lach and Alan Whipps

This committee analyzes and recommends ideas/policies concerning the financial affairs of the Organization. The committee meets monthly at various times in the Chamber office.


Magazine Committee

Nancy Simpson, Melinda Metz, Greg Lach, Erin Robles, Dwight Stowers, Lindsey Mindel, Cyndi Morgan

This committee develops the Chamber Magazine, which is a professional publication about the businesses in the Portage community. This publication will be delivered to all 17,000 residential and business address in the 46368 zip code twice annually.

The committee meets monthly or as needed from March thru July.


Music in The Park

Chair: Jose Moreno

The committee plans and executes the largest networking night in Portage which hosts 100-150 businesses and provides these businesses to promote to 500-700 Portage Residents at Woodland Park. This committee meets every other week from November thru April.


PCBN Committee (Portage Community and Business Night)

Chair: Nancy Simpson

Committee Members: Melinda Metz, Carol Podolak, Devra Leonard, Erin Robles, Cyndi Morgan, Greg Lach


CNN Committee (Chamber Network Night)

Chairs: Erin Robles, Rachel Campbell (Duneland Chamber) and Stephanie Edwards (Valparaiso Chamber)

The committee plans, collaborates and executes the Porter County Chamber Network Night which is a joint event hosted by the Duneland, Portage, and Valparaiso Chamber of Commerce. This event is hosted annually in October at the Porter County Expo Center.


Golf Committee

Chair: Brooke Leonard

Committee Members: Nancy Simpson, Melinda Metz, Carol Podolak, Cyndi Morgan, Dwight Stowers, Ashley Banic, Erin Robles, Mike Sarver

The committee organizes this annual one-day golf outing featuring one flight, continental breakfast, sack lunch, dinner buffet, awards, sponsorships and contests.

Committee meets 4-5 times from February thru June.



Building Committee

Chair: TBD

The Building Committee oversees all activities associated with the operation, maintenance, safety and security of the building, grounds, furnishings and equipment owned by the Organization.

This committee meets on an as needed basis.


Personnel Committee

Chair: Greg Lach

Committee Members: Kevin Kosek

The personnel committee handles the human resource issues that may arise.


Marketing and Communications Committee

Nancy Simpson, Melinda Metz, Greg Lach, Erin Robles, Kevin Kosek, and Danielle Roytan

This committee works to raise needed revenue for continued operations and to raise donations for a particular cause. The marketing committee develops strategies on how to communicate messages to potential members and to generate interest in the benefits of becoming a Chamber Member.

This committee meets ongoing every other month.


Public Policy

Chair: Kevin Kosek

Committee Members: Greg Lach, Nancy Simpson, David Ondrovich, Denise Little, Shannon Burhans, Brent Wright, Melinda Metz, and Phil Goodrich

Advocating for our Chamber members on governmental policies that may not support our business community



Chair: Greg Lach

Committee Members: Nancy Simpson and Kevin Kosek

This committee helps with providing legal oversight for the organization


Scholarship Committee

Chair: Nancy Simpson

Committee Members: Greg Lach, Lisa Franko, Erin Robles, and Dwight Stowers

Creating scholarship criteria to offer 3, $1000 scholarships for incoming college freshman