Community Awards Banquet

2017 Annual Community Awards Banquet

On November 18th Chamber Members and members of the community joined together to celebrate the great things happening in the Portage Community at the Greater Portage Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Community Awards Banquet. Attendees enjoyed a dinner of Prime Rib provided by Texas Roadhouse, raffles, and a game for prizes.

Award recipients include:

New Construction Award – Portage Township Park Department

Community Improvement Awards

Dr. Keary A. Bewick, D.D.S

Kirby Risk

La Cabana

Country Inn & Suites

Coyne Veterinary Center

Da Portable Rican

Portage 16 IMAX

T Mobile

SoundTide Music Studio

Vital Nutrition

McEuen Law Office



Business Services Award– Minuteman Press

Putting Portage on the Map– Portage Township Schools

Outstanding Educator– Grace Hilsmier

Outstanding Fireman– Aaron Wirtz

Outstanding Policeman– Jim Eagen

Quality of Life– Portage Township Live Entertainment Association

Volunteer of the Year– Irma Torres

Humanitarian of the Year– Hannah’s Hope Founders: Mike and Mary Martinez

Special Event– Bicycle Safety Day

Ambassador of the Year– John Peterson

Outstanding Public Citizen– James Hazzard